An ad-hoc committee of scholars and researchers recently released a report, “Fair Elections During a Crisis: Urgent Recommendations in Law, Media, Politics, and Tech to Advance the Legitimacy of, and the Public’s Confidence in, the November 2020 U.S. Elections,” addressing the challenges posed by holding an election in the midst of a public health crisis. The committee offers recommendations and best practices from an interdisciplinary perspective regarding the execution of the upcoming general election.

The report includes a total of fourteen recommendations for “immediate change” that should be implemented to increase voter confidence in the fairness and legitimacy of the 2020 elections. These recommendations are directed at a wide-range of participants including journalists and editors, companies, state and federal legislators, nonprofits, citizens, and social media influencers.

Read the full report.

Ad Hoc Committee for 2020 Fairness and Legitimacy

Recognizing the need for multifaceted solutions to the issue of the legitimacy and acceptance of fair election results in the United States, Richard L. Hasen, Chancellor’s Professor of Law and Political Science at the University of California, Irvine, convened an ad hoc committee made up of a diverse group of leading scholars and thinkers to tackle this issue from an interdisciplinary perspective.The members of the Ad Hoc Committee for 2020 Election Fairness and Integrity are: Andrew W. Appel, Eugene Higgins Professor of Computer Science, Princeton University; Julia Azari, Associate Professor of Political Science, Marquette University; Bruce E. Cain, Professor of Political Science, Stanford University; Jack C. Doppelt, Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani Professor of Journalism, Northwestern University; Tiana Epps-Johnson, Executive Director, Center for Tech and Civic Life; Edward B. Foley, Ebersold Chair in Constitutional Law and Director, Election Law, Ohio State University Moritz College of Law; John C. Fortier, Director of Governmental Studies, Bipartisan Policy Center; Richard L. Hasen (Committee Chair), Chancellor's Professor of Law and Political Science, UCI Law; Liz Howard Counsel, Brennan Center for Justice, NYU School of Law; David Kaye, Clinical Professor of Law, UCI Law and UN Special Rapporteur on the Promotion and Protection of the Right to Freedom of Opinion and Expression; Jack Lerner, Clinical Professor of Law & Director, UCI Intellectual Property, Arts, and Technology Clinic, UC Irvine School of Law; Michael T. Morley, Assistant Professor of Law, Florida State University College of Law; Janai S. Nelson, Associate Director-Counsel, NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, Inc.; Brendan Nyhan, Professor of Government, Dartmouth College; Cailin O’Connor, Associate Professor of Logic and Philosophy of Science, UC Irvine; Norman Ornstein; Resident Scholar, American Enterprise Institute, Nina Perales, Vice President of Litigation, Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund; Nate Persily, James B. McClatchy Professor of Law, Stanford University; Richard H. Pildes, Sudler Family Professor of Constitutional Law, New York University School of Law; Bertrall Ross, Chancellor’s Professor of Law, UC Berkeley School of Law; Alex Stamos, Director, Stanford Internet Observatory, Stanford University; Charles Stewart III, Kenan Sahin Distinguished Professor of Political Science, MIT; Michael Tesler, Associate Professor of Political Science, UC Irvine; Ciara Torres-Spelliscy Professor of Law, Stetson University College of Law; and James Owen Weatherall, Professor of Logic and Philosophy of Science, UC Irvine.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *